We’ll be waiting for Unity 3D Editor on Linux very long

We’ll be waiting for Unity 3D Editor on Linux very long

I wrote to Unity Technologies an e-mail. And I got the answer:

Thank you for your email to Unity Technologies. I’m sorry you have felt forced to stop using Unity due to platform issues. The Linux community is important to us and there may be plans in the future for you guys, but for now, it isn’t in our pipeline.

Please submit your feedback directly to our development team who take all feedback seriously. You can do this here:

http://feedback.unity3d.com/

I submitted my feedback a long ago. I don’t believe Unity Team take these all words into considerations. The most important are profits for the company. And they think they won’t earn money on Linux. Well, they are wrong. Linux is a huge industry. It’s hard to say how many Linux users are in the world. Some people simply use Windows, but they play with Linux too. There are many, many Linux followers. And some of them will buy the license because Linux is a better platform for 3D graphics than Windows is. Alas, the power of Micro$oft is dictating terms. And Unity Community means nothing in reality.

6 thoughts on “We’ll be waiting for Unity 3D Editor on Linux very long

  1. LinuxUser

    maybe Linux community will make an game engine together like they did Linux OS es, …

    and have it openssource so everyone can contribute to the engine, …

    well, … game engines, …

    Reply
    1. tomaszzackiewicz Post author

      Fortunately! Wine is probably the only way out for people who wish to run software that has no Linux version. I remember the time when I tried to run Unity3D with Wine and the installation was shitty. Somebody create a solution on Ubuntu, and I tried to do that on OpenSuse. I was unsuccessful and I gave up. Using PlayOnLinux was great solution. And Linux got a new 3D acceleration, too. Now Unity3D on Linux is just like on Windows. You can develop games. However, there are still some problems with graphic drivers. I know that Intel + the recent Mesa is a very good configuration.

      Reply

Leave a comment